My kind of stew

I woke up early today to practice but my body was very sore, particularly my shoulders. My colds also got overwhelming so I ended up practicing only the standing poses. The gloomy weather likewise aggravated my condition. It has been raining since yesterday.

What better way to counter this gloom but to make my own version of the korean vegetable stew (Doenjang jjigae).

Doenjang jjigae is a soybean paste stew which is considered as one of  the traditional food among the Koreans.The soybean paste has a particularly earthy flavor since it has been fermented for a long time. It compliments perfectly with all kinds of vegetables ,tofu and seafood and even meat.

I made my own version today using potatoes, squash , zucchini, baguio beans and tofu.

I just dissolved 2 tablespoons of the bean paste in 3 cups of water and let it boil for 3-4 minutes. Keeping it to boil,  I added my vegetables. I put the tofu last  and sprinkled red pepper flakes. When the vegetables are cooked , I let it simmer for a few minutes then served it with rice.

This healthy, simple and affordable meal is really apt for today’s weather as it provides energy and healing for me.

Enjoy your meal.

Leave a Reply

