Om shanti, shanti, shantihi …

 

Image result for quotes on ahimsa

There is just so much grief around that I could not help but cry. My country is not spared from life’s harshness.Life has become cheap day by day. People just can’t stop hating each other.

Sometimes,  I dislike reading news feeds .There is just a lot of violence confronting us daily. Yesterday, a big bombing incident happened in one of my favorite cities. Death occurred. Many were injured. I see sadness and gloom in the eyes of our new president. I feel the agony of the people affected. I am thinking of own family back home. I am worried about their safety too.

My heart goes out to the children and the aged. I wish life is less complicated. I wish peace is not just for the few. I wish everyone can attain it. It is just too much to handle. Today is one of those days that I just choose to keep quiet for a moment and pray. There is just too much pain.

The principle of ahimsa (Non- violence) calls for everyone to show love and compassion to all forms of being.   This can be demonstrated through our words, deeds and even our thoughts and feelings. We can only build a harmonious relationship with everything that has life when we care to value their dignity. RESPECT is such a big word but this is necessary to avoid inflicting any form of harm towards others

No one is supposed to be above nor below us. We are in the real sense of the word equal in this borrowed world of ours. Why the hate? Why the discrimination? Why the domination?

Then, I started to look at the way I deal with other people. I realize I should not go  far to seek for the answers. I hate  because I refuse to accept others the way they are. I discriminate because I have my own biases and I don’t want to compromise at times. I act superior thinking I am better than others. I have no right to blame others. I have the right to do something good to help others.

I need to continue practicing peace within  me  . I need to change the way I look at people and at life. I need to see beauty in myself and in everyone. I need to be that change that this world needs.

Now , this is the challenge but I won’t stop. I am a yogin and I need to act like one.

“Let there be peace on earth and let it begin with me.”

Om shanti, shanti, shantihi.

One thought on “Om shanti, shanti, shantihi …

  1. I couldn’t agree more with you. Thank you for reminding us that the suffering in our society, and the world where we live, is nothing but the result of our inner confusion. It is always much easier to blame others, but each of us is responsible. Aiming at finding the peace within ourselves is key…Thank you.
    My prayers are with all the people in your country who are suffering because of this tragedy.

Leave a Reply

